Home News MDC T Harare defies Komichi and stand by its nomination of Mwonzora

MDC T Harare defies Komichi and stand by its nomination of Mwonzora


MDC T’s Harare province has defied acting party Chairman Morgen Komichi and and stands by its nomination of Sen Douglas Mwonzora for the presidency in the upcoming Extra Ordinary Congress. The Province met in Epworth on Thursday to discuss burning issues within the party.

In July the Province, led by Chairman Simon Hove, met and resoundingly nominated Sen Mwonzora. However the move was rejected by Komichi, who on 25 July issued a scathing statement calling the province “rougue”. Below is the full statement issued by Harare Province Information Department after yesterday’s meeting:

It was a hive of activity today 20/08/20 in Domboramwari, Epworth as MDC T Harare Province led by its Chairman Simon Hove addressed Epworth District. The constituency had concerns over a number of issues ranging from Recalls, EOC Nominations, treatment of returnees from MDC Alliance and Election for a District Chairman to replace the late Peter Sigauke, among others.
Harare Province through the able leadership of Chairman Hove responded adequately to all queries .

On recalling Epworth MP Ethrage Kureva and Councillors affiliated to MDC Alliance, the Province reiterated that its duty is only to recommend and a list of names was submitted to Standing committee which is yet to take action.
On EOC nominations, the Province reinforced that Harare nominated Secretary General Douglas Mwonzora as its Presidential candidate. If nominations are to be started afresh, Harare Province will still nominate Hon Mwonzora.

The Province reaffirmed the Party position that all members who are defecting from MDC Alliance in spirit and in truth must be embraced without any conditions. The Province could not fill the gap left by the late Chairman Peter Sigauke, citing that it was too early to carry out a replacement. Instead District Secretary Gift July was tasked to temporarily carry out duties of the District Chairman while retaining his District Secretary position.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here